EATING IN SEASON

Happy Spring!

Yes it is, according to the Celtic calendar. The wheel of time rolls into the time of new life: lambing, breaking ice and snowdrops poking through the snow. Blessings of Imbolc, Celtic spring, which begins on St. Brigid’s Day, February 2nd. Should you remember, since my career has less of a hold on my life, the rhythm of the earth instead of the corporate structure determines my sense of timing. I am ending the planning period of the year and beginning the executing period. Let’s start with food:

Buy in Season; Buy Local

Some of us plant-based eaters worry about making sure we serve our families a nutrition-dense variety of veggies all year long. In my opinion eating local and in season is the answer. I’m a big fan of local farmers’ markets. It takes the burden off my head of thinking about what veggies to buy every week. In my quest to find what seasonally appropriate vegetables to feature for meals this season I found a useful chart. It’s the Seasonal Produce Guide from USDA.

This week: Pay the rent? Buy Medicine? Buy Food?

Seniors too often find themselves having to choose between buying meds or food. I make sure that when it’s food buying week that I pick the freshest seasonally available.

This month: Executing Plan for Life Season-right Career Change

I was in job-search mode last season and there were poor results. Opening a brand new search this season I look forward to seeing the adjustments made and lessons learned will bring success. I plan to make space for indoor gardening. There will be blogs and pictures from time to time about that.

We welcome spring today and face it believing that the return of the sun will not only bring new life in the garden, but newness in every part of life.

Leave a comment